October 27, 2017

Ukrainian American Veterans award scholarships for 2017


Ukrainian American Veterans Scholarship Awards recipients (from left): Alexander Geba, Deanna Marie Koski, Brandon Paul Hrycak, Anna Terrebetzky, Laryssa Natalie Horodysky, Lily Anne Lynch and Leticia Grace Rankin.

YONKERS, N.Y. – The recipients of Ukrainian American Veterans Scholarship Awards will be officially announced at the UAV’s 70th annual national convention in Yonkers, N.Y., on November 2-4.

The UAV Scholarship Committee selects and awards scholarship money to matriculated undergraduate college students. The purpose of the scholarship awards is to help students pay for books or school supplies. Students are required to write an essay (400-500 words) about a current military or related topic. The topics for this year are: the war on terrorism, human rights, negative effects of wars on American veterans, Russian aggression on sovereign countries and Ukrainian-American veterans’ contributions to America’s wars. Students can chose one of these five topics for their essay. Other criteria considered for a scholarship are academic achievement and extracurricular activities.

This year, seven students applied and received scholarship awards.

• Alexander Geba (Massachusetts) attends Bridgewater State University and is majoring in business and marketing. He is the recipient of the $500 award in memory of Michael Demchuk, who started the UAV Scholarship Fund in 1992-1993.

• Deanna Marie Koski (New York) attends Pace University and is majoring in production and design for stage/art history. She is the recipient of the UAV Ladies Auxiliary award of $400.

• Brandon Paul Hrycak (New Jersey) attends California State University – Chico and is majoring in computer information systems. He is the recipient of the $400 award from UAV Post 40.

• Anna Terrebetzky (New York) attends Hunter College, is majoring in English-linguistics and rhetoric, and is a student of the Thomas Hunter Special Honors Program. She is the recipient of a $300 award.

• Laryssa Natalie Horodysky (New Jersey) attends Gettysburg College and is majoring in international affairs and political science. She is the recipient of a $300 award.

• Lily Anne Lynch (New York) attends Nazareth College of Rochester and is majoring in international relations. She received a $250 award.

• Leticia Grace Rankin (California) attends Grand Canyon University and is majoring in elementary education. She received a $250 award.

The scholarship committee has extended thanks to all the students for participating and wished them a successful school year. Thanks were also expressed to all who donated to make the UAV scholarship awards a success.

Students interested in applying for the UAV Scholarship Award should fill out an application, send their college transcript (unofficial copy), write an essay on one of the topics specified and e-mail a high-quality digital photo of themselves. Applications are available on the UAV website, www.uavets.org, and all required information may be submitted electronically.

To be eligible for a UAV scholarship, applicants must be descendants of or related to Ukrainian American Veterans. Applicants should be full-time undergraduate college students in a degree program. Moreover, students attending accredited trade schools or institutions that have a degree program also are eligible. Students can apply while in their senior year in high school; college attendance will be verified before the awards are given in the fall semester. Applications are accepted all-year around, and the deadline for the upcoming academic year is August 31. Students may reapply for a scholarship award in subsequent years.

Scholarship applications should be sent to UAV National Scholarship Officer Nicholas Skirka, 109 Windsor Terrace, Yonkers, N.Y., 10701. For additional information, e-mail him at  nskirka@optonline.net or call 914-965-3707.

The UAV National Scholarship Committee includes: John Tkachuk, Peter Olijarczyk, Maksym Makarczuk and Russel Olijarczyk.